This is my fourth and final part of my review of Mere Christianity. If you’d like to skip the somewhat long-winded first three parts, this also has a good summary of my thoughts on the book and could be read alone (and is the shortest to boot).

For a book that I don’t think adds a lot of value, I spent a lot of time on it. I did that because it’s one of the most common books I’ve seen used to try to convert people, and as a self-proclaimed rational argument, it is such a bad argument. It is so lauded by those who agree with it that I feel it needed a thorough discussion.

But now I think I will move onto some books that I actually think are valuable. Most likely Bart Ehrman’s The Lost Christianities, which is one of the first books a seeker should read if interested in the early history of Christianity, the rise of the proto-Orthodox, why the Canonical Gospels are the best historical records we have about the life of Jesus, and yet why they are still terrible records.